Tanis honoured as Citizen of the Year PDF Print
Local Content - Local News
Written by production   
Thursday, 27 January 2011 18:32

As the newest Citizen of the Year in Picture Butte, Everett Tanis received recognition Friday evening on the local, provincial and national level.
Tanis accepted the 2010 designation from the Picture Butte and District Chamber of Commerce during its annual banquet. In introducing the award recipient, MC Roelof Heinen said 36 years ago Tanis was already being recognized for his willingness to lend a helping hand.
He quoted from the 1976 Coyote Flats history book which noted Tanis was one of those people who always has time to lend a hand.
“It is a fitting tribute to his dedication to the chamber,” said Heinen
He noted Tanis is one of those people that can always be counted on. If you ask, he will go and do.
“It couldn’t have happened to a better individual.”
Whether its politics, chamber or even the local agricultural society, Tanis is always at the ready to work and work hard, added Heinen.
“It’s people like Everett who truly make a difference.”
Tanis has been a member of the chamber for 35 years and was a founding member of the agricultural society. He has served in many executive capacities with both organizations and recently accepted yet another role on the chamber executive for the new year.
Tanis will serve as second vice-president along with incoming President Jon Stevens. Matt Beal will serve as the new first vice-president with Allison Vucurevich as treasurer and Irene Hartgerink as secretary/manager.
“He loves the exchange of ideas,” said Heinen.
Lethbridge MLA Bridget Pastoor said she feels blessed to have Tanis as a friend both in the political arena and on a personal level.
“Everett has always been there for me.”
MP Rick Casson and MLA Barry McFarland, who were unable to attend, sent their congratulations along to Tanis with presentations during the evening.
Picture Butte’s Deputy Mayor Richard Sheen said it was a real honour for him to congratulate Tanis on behalf of the town.
When it came time for Tanis to accept all of the evening’s praise he found the moment very emotional.
He even quipped that he left his glasses at his table for fear they would fog up. He recalled the people who have previously been recognized with the Citizen of the Year designation and called for a minute of silence to honour those who have passed on.
“I stand here next to all of you.”
He said everyone in attendance are Citizen of the Year material and all help to create a sustainable community. He also expressed his appreciate for the honour which left him humbled and emotional.
“I enjoy the company of all of you here.”
He said he would accept the award as part of the community. He also thanked his family for attending and noted he was thankful for the cooperative weather.
He added had the award been presented the night before, when blowing snow created icy roads and reduced visibility, there might have only been three people in attendance.
“Maybe Roelof because he has a front-end loader.”
In his parting comment he challenged those in attendance to “stand up for what you believe in.”
During the evening out-going president Jim Bouma provided an overview of the chamber’s activities over the past year noting 2010 saw 64 paid members sign with the organization.
He said last spring the chamber would traditionally have hosted a trade fair but major construction at both the recreation complex and the high school left the group without a facility and the event was canceled.
The chamber co-hosted the Jamboree Days parade with the agricultural society and hosted a fall election forum just ahead of the October municipal election. Midnight Madness and the Santa Shop in November were also a successful event for the chamber and drew a good crowd into the downtown core.
He said in 2010 the chamber was a member of the Canadian chamber and sent Tanis to Ottawa to attend the national convention on behalf of Picture Butte and other local chambers in the region.
The annual Christmas decorating awards were also presented during the evening with Herman and Liz Stroeve accepting the county award from ATB Financial while Brian and Sandy Marshman and Bob and Theresa Wiberg accepted the town award from Scotiabank.



<<  December 2014  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Powered by Tricube Media