Current Temperature


July 22, 2024 July 22, 2024

New councils named for Coaldale, Picture Butte and County 

Posted on October 16, 2017 by Sunny South News

This article was updated to reflect the results of the Village of Barons’ municipal election, results of which were not available as of press time.


Incumbent Coaldale Mayor Kim Craig keeps his seat on council with 1,149 votes against challenger Jack Van Rijn with 1,090 votes.

Coun.(s) incumbents Bill Chapman (1,561 votes, the most votes cast for one candidate), Jacen G. Abrey (1,430 votes) and Roger Hohm (1,288 votes) will retain their seats on council, and will be joined by newcomers Briane Simpson (1,475 votes), Henry (Butch) Pauls (1,291 votes) and Doreen Lloyd (1,212 votes). Candidate Douglas Page missed out on a council seat with 1,071 votes.

The results of the plebiscite were in favour of council to not create a bylaw to allow for the installation, operation and use of Video Lottery Terminals (VLTs) within the town by a very slim margin, with 1,113 votes being cast for ‘No’ and 1,100 votes being cast for ‘Yes’.

A total of 2,265 ballots out of 5,780 eligible voters were cast in the 2017 Municipal Election for the Town of Coaldale, for a 39 per cent voter turnout, which is up from 34 per cent in the 2013 Municipal Election.

Please note that the results are considered unofficial until noon on Friday, October 20, 2017.

Picture Butte

Picture Butte town council  will see a new face in Cynthia Papworth, who will join council with 288 votes. Current coun.(s) Henry de Kok (281 votes), Joe Watson (274 votes) and  Teresa Feist (236 votes) will retain their seats on council. Candidate Robert Brander missed out on a council seat with 227 votes.

Cathy Moore won the mayor’s seat by acclamation.

Lethbridge County

Div. 1 incumbent Lorne Hickey keeps his spot on Lethbridge County council with 119 votes, defeating Greg Farries (102), Jack Peterson (74) and Mark Vaselenak (18).

Div. 2 sees newcomer Tory Campbell take the seat with 181 votes, defeating Mark Hranac (15) and Michael Willms (54).

Div. 3 newcomer Bob Horvath takes the seat with 117 votes, defeating incumbent Henry Doeve (87).

Div. 6 sees newcomer Klass Vander Veen take the seat with 122 votes defeating  Roxanne Adams (90), incumbent Tom White (111) and Tony Wolak (24).

Ken Benson (Div 4), Steve Campbell (Div. 5) and Morris Zeinstra (Div. 7) won their seats by acclamation.


Barons village council sees a new face in Michelle Lyne Tarditi, with 67 votes. Incumbents Ron Gorzitza (49 votes) and Ed Weistra (69 votes) retain their seats. Candidate Martin Matheson missed out on a seat with 35 votes.

A total of 48.18 per cent of eligible voters in Barons had cast a vote in this year’s election.

Leave a Reply

Get More Sunny South News
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe