Current Temperature


July 22, 2024 July 22, 2024

Lethbridge County and Town of Nobleford sign ICF and recreation agreements

Posted on August 25, 2020 by Sunny South News

Lethbridge County and the Town of Nobleford have come together in the spirit of mutual cooperation and collaboration by signing their first-ever Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF) and Recreation Agreement.

The ICF Agreement provides both the County and Town a guide for integrated and strategic planning, delivery and funding of intermunicipal services. The Recreation Agreement is part of the five areas under the ICF. Lethbridge County has committed to providing annual funding to Nobleford for recreation.

“The Town of Nobleford has grown together with Lethbridge County since they were incorporated,” said Nobleford Mayor Don McDowell and CAO Kirk Hofman.  “This ICF is just a restatement of what we already do together. We appreciate the County funding of recreation capital projects under their Land Trust Fund Grant in the past and now look forward to the new recreation funding agreement that the county offered us.”

“These agreements signify a willingness to work together to achieve common goals for the benefit of our citizens,” said Reeve Lorne Hickey.  “We value our good relationship with the Town of Nobleford and look forward to further strengthening this relationship through future collaboration as a result of the ICF and Recreation Agreement.”

“One of our priorities has been regional collaboration,” said Lethbridge County CAO Ann Mitchell. “When we work together, we can find efficiencies and ways to better serve our citizens and businesses. Providing stable and predictable funding benefits both municipalities in the long term and is a very positive step forward.”

ICF and Recreation Agreements are required of all municipalities in Alberta who share a common border.

Lethbridge County has also completed ICF agreements with the City of Lethbridge, Town of Coaldale, Village of Barons, MD of Willow Creek, Vulcan County, MD of Taber, County of Warner, and Cardston County.

Leave a Reply

Get More Sunny South News
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe