Current Temperature


October 3, 2023 October 3, 2023

Coaldale student awarded $5,000 scholarship to U of L

Posted on June 29, 2023 by Sunny South News

By Erika Mathieu
Sunny South News

A local Kate Andrews high school student has been named one of six recipients of the prestigious Chinook Scholarship from the University of Lethbridge.

Among the successful applicants, are some of Alberta’s brightest young scholars. Each recipient will receive $5,000 towards their studies at the University of Lethbridge

Applicants were considered based on their academic achievements, with a minimum of an 85 per cent admission average, as well as for their demonstrated excellence in leadership roles.

This year’s winners hail from across the province, including Abigail Giacchetta of Kate Andrews High School in Coaldale. Giacchetta is an accomplished musician, holding the first chair in both jazz and concert band, as well as being the second chair in the honour band. She has also been an active member of her community as the Co-President of the Kate Andrews Student Council and a volunteer for Youth-Do Crew and the Rachael Thomas Youth Advisory Board. Giacchetta’s passion for research has led her to pursue a degree in neuroscience, with aspirations of attending medical school following her undergraduate studies.

Upon receiving the news Giacchetta issued the following statement:

“I’m incredibly honoured to have been recognized for my leadership work within my community and awarded this procedure scholarship. It is helped boost my confidence and I am energized to continue my volunteering and leadership at the university of Lethbridge. I am so excited to meet new individuals with the same goals and aspirations as myself. Joining new clubs and stepping out of my comfort zone are wonderful ways to better experience university life. I’ve always been interested in neuroscience and was so incredibly happy to have been accepted into the program and I cannot wait to meet the amazing individuals there and learn about topics I enjoy.”

The scholarship recipients were chosen by a committee based on a submitted student essay submissions, personal and academic references, academic excellence, and demonstrated leadership experience.

In a recent press release, Dr. Erasmus Okine, Provost and Vice-President (Academic) at the University of Lethbridge, praised the sox recipients their commitment to their studies, fellow classmates, and communities, and said these students are, “among the brightest young minds in the province, with an aptitude for leadership and service.”

Leave a Reply

Get More Sunny South News
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe