Current Temperature


June 24, 2024 June 24, 2024

Picture Butte Fish and Game Award Winners for 2014

Posted on February 3, 2015 by Sunny South News

By Stan Ashbee
Sunny South News

On Jan. 24, the 2015 39th Annual Picture Butte Fish and Game Wild Game Supper and Awards was held at the Elks Hall. The unique menu included venison sausage, elk sliders, marinated game bird, elk stroganoff, moose meatballs, smoked salmon, duck enchiladas, whitetail cutlets, bison roast, wild pig, and ginger goose.
The following are the first place 2014 Big Game Trophy Winners: Adult Rifle Mule Deer — Anthony Caruso (150). Non-Typical Mule Deer — Conrad Sinke (184.3). Whitetail Deer — Matthew Yagos (129.6). Elk — Conrad Sinke (199). Moose — Josh Richardson (146.5). Pronghorn Antelope — Rod Peake (77). Black Bear — Brayden Van Bezooyen (13 15/16). Adult Archery Mule Deer — Josh Richardson (102.5). Junior Rifle Mule Deer — Keaton Chogi (176.7). Whitetail Deer — Keaton Chogi (122). Bear — Keaton Chogi (16 15/16).
The following are the first place 2014 Bird and Fish Trophy Winners: Fish Northern Pike — Ryan Chogi (24 pounds and one once). Cut Throat Trout — Kevin Peake (Two pounds and seven ounces). Birds Canada Goose — Travis Yunick (13 pounds and six ounces). Snow Goose — Rod Peake (Six pounds and 13 ounces). Mallard Duck — Kevin Peake (Three pounds and seven ounces). Pheasant — Rod Peake (38 and a half inches). Sharp Tail Grouse — Kevin Peake (One pound and nine ounces). Partridge — Rod Peake (425 grams).
The following are the 2014 Photography Winners: Trophy Game — Travis Yunick. Scenery — Liz Leusink. Activities — Liz Leusink. Nature — Liz Leusink.
The following are the Champions and Special Awards Winners: Lil Kubik Memorial PBHS Scholarship — Darcy Juhar. Eddy Strove Memorial Fishing Derby (Largest Fish Caught) Keaton Chogi (26 inches). Largest Animal Taken With A Rifle — Rod Peak (Antelope; 93.9 per cent B and C). Largest Animal Taken With A Bow (junior or adult) — Josh Richardson (Mule Deer; 70.78 per cent of P and Y). Joe Mrak Memorial Junior Rifle Hunter of the Year — Keaton Chogi (three animals; 232.02 points). Rifle Hunter of the Year (adult) — Conrad Sinke (183.52 points). Bow Hunter of the Year — Josh Richardson (70.78 points). Grand Champion — Brayden Van Bezooyen (68.30 per cent of B and C). Kent Hage Memorial Award (formerly the Doug Black Memorial Award) — Harmen Leusink.

Leave a Reply

Get More Sunny South News
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe